Mutlimedia University of Kenya (MMU)

Langata - Constituency, Nairobi - County


Multimedia University of Kenya (MMU) is a chartered public university established by the Kenyan Government under the Universities Act No. 42 of 2012 and the Multimedia University of Kenya Charter 2013.


Currently Multimedia University of Kenya offers Degree, Diploma and Certificate programmes under  

  1. Faculties of Engineering and Technology;
  2. Faculty of Computing Information Technology;
  3. Faculty of Media and Communication;
  4. Faculty of Business and Law; and
  5. Faculty of Science


Multimedia University of Kenya also offers short, skill-based courses at the Centre for Further Education.
The university has collaborations and partnerships with other local and international organisations and universities. These cater to development projects; student and staff exchange programmes; internship opportunities among other benefits.

Academic Programmes
Multimedia University of Kenya is a modern day state-of-the-art public university. Given the vast and rich communication history of the institution, the university has particularly positioned itself to serving and being the market leader in the fields of IT, Media, Science, Engineering and Business.

Our Academic Programmes are designed in consultation with the industry so as to ensure relevant and quality education is offered to all students.  
The university takes the lead in offering new academic programmes in the following fields:

  1. Film & Animation,
  2. Mechatronic Engineering
  3. Mathematics and Computer Science



2013 -     Became a fully fledged University.
2008 -     Became Multimedia University of Kenya under Legal Notice No. 155 of 2008.
2006 -     Became a CCK subsidiary after privatization of TKL.
1999 -     Became a subsidiary of Telkom Kenya Ltd. (TKL) due to KPTC splitting into Postal Corporation of Kenya (PCK), Telkom Kenya Ltd and Communications Commission of Kenya.
1992 -     Upgraded to Kenya College of Communications Technology (KCCT) under KPTC.

1977 -     Control vested in Kenya Posts & Telecommunications Corporation (KPTC) when East African Community collapsed.
1948 -      Founded as Central Training School. (CTS) to serve East African Posts Training School.


The Multimedia University main campus is situated on a 115 hectares piece of land in a
serene environment 25 Kilometres south of Nairobi along Magadi road, a
kilometre away from Ongata Rongai town.
The Nairobi CBD Campus is
located at City Square Post Office Building 3rd Floor along Haile-
Selassie Avenue, opposite Extelcom House.

Courses offered at Mutlimedia University of Kenya

Bachelor of Applied Communication

Bachelors Degree
4 years

Bachelor of Commerce

Bachelors Degree
4 years

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Bachelors Degree
4 years

Bachelor of Journalism

Bachelors Degree
4 years

Actuarial Science

Bachelors Degree
4 years

Trending courses