Bachelor of Science Program Offered at Kenyatta University


Kenyatta University (KU)

Kiambu County

Bachelors Degree 4 years Fulltime Fee: on application Intake: Ongoing

Bachelors Degree (Accredited by: Kenyatta University)

About Bachelor of Science Bachelors Degree program.

The Bachelor of Science provides a multitude of study options, graduate pathways and career outcomes, and the opportunity to tailor your degree to suit your interests and goals. The Bachelor of Science spans the sciences, health sciences, technology and engineering systems.

Entry requirements for Bachelor of Science

A student wishing to study Kenyatta University must satisfy the minimum university requirements and School of Pure and Applied Sciences regulations.

A student must have C+ in Biology or Biological Sciences, PLUS at least a C+ in ANY TWO of the following subjects;

  • Physical Sciences, Physics, Chemistry, Geography and Agriculture,


at least 2 principals passes one which must be Biology in the Kenya Advanced Certificate of Education (KACE),


C plain in KCSE (or Division III KCE/EACE) with a credit pass at diploma level in any of the following areas:

Education (Biology), Applied Biology, Agriculture, Wildlife or Wetlands from an institution recognized by the Kenyatta University Senate


Mean grade of C- (minus) at KCSE and progressed from certificate to Diploma at Kenyatta University or any other recognized/accredited Institutions.


Bachelor of Science Course Subjects

Graduates of this programme will be awarded a Bachelor of Science degree.

Programme Structure

In each year of study a student is required to take courses in the School of Pure & Applied Sciences amounting to 12 units. All students are also required to take four common University courses, which can be taken at any time before a student graduates.

In the first year the combination of courses to be taken in the Department of Plant Sciences is the same for all students. In the second year a student must take four courses (three of which are core) as well as four courses in each of two other Science departments. In the third and fourth years, the combination may vary as shown below:

3:3:1:1 Major – Twelve PS units in each of the third and fourth years.

3:3:2:1 Major – Eight PS units and four units from another department in the third year, and twelve PS units in the fourth year.

3:3:2:2 Major – Eight PS units and four units from another department in each of the third and

fourth years.

3:3:2:2 Regular – Six PS units and six units from another department in each of the third and

fourth years.

3:3:2:2 Minor – Four PS units and eight units from another department in each of the third and

fourth years.

3:3:2:0 Minor – Four PS units and eight units from another department in the third year, and no PS units in the fourth year.

The 3:3:1:1 and 3:3:2:1 Major programmes will be offered at the discretion of the department. Unless otherwise stated each course is equivalent to one unit.

University Common Units


UCU100: Communication Skills

UCU 103: Introduction to Critical and Creative Thinking

Choose One:

UCU 101: Development Studies

UCU104: Introduction to Entrepreneurship

UCU 106: Diversity, Ethics and Citizenship


Level 100

Core courses

SBT 100: Cellular Basis of Life

SBT 101: Survey of the Plant Kingdom

SBT 102: Plant Morphology and Anatomy. SBT 103: Botanical Techniques

Level 200

SBT 200: Plant Ecology (core) SBT 201: Plant Function (core)

SMB 200: General Microbiology (core) SBT 204: Pteridophytes and Bryophytes SBT 205: Phytopathogens

Level 300

SBT 300: Cell Biology and Genetics SBT 301: Taxonomy of Higher Plants SBT 302: Mycology

SBT 303: Principles of Plant Pathology SBT 304: Biosystematics and Palynology SMB 300: Bacteriology

SBT 306: Economic Botany

SBT 307: Biostatistics (compulsory for Botany major students) SBT 308: Plant Growth and Development

SBT 309: Advanced Plant Ecology

SBT 310: Plant Biochemistry and Physiology

Level 400 (Choose any four units)

SBT 400: Research Project (2 units over 2 semesters) SBT 401: General Genetics

SBT 402: Phycology

SBT 403: Ecophysiology

SBT 405: Morphogenesis and Developmental Anatomy

SBT 407: Arid Land Ecology

SBT 408: Forest Ecology SBT 410: Marine Botany SBT 411: Aquatic Botany

SBT 413: Environmental Microbiology

SBT 418: Microbial Genetics

SBT 419: Cytogenetics and Molecular Biology

SBT 420: Biotechnology

SBT 421: Plant Breeding

SBT 422: Virology

SBT 423: Diagnosis and Control of Plant Diseases

SBT 424: Pesticides

About Kenyatta University

When you come to Kenyatta University,you discover that you have arrived at a special place.The University’s Main Campus is set on over 1,000 acres with a pleasant and serene surrounding conducive to academic and intellectual growth.

Kenyatta University is home to some of the world's top scholars, researchers and experts in ... read more