BSc Geography Program Offered at Egerton University

Bachelors Degree 4 years Fulltime Fee: on application Intake: Ongoing

Bachelors Degree (Accredited by: Egerton University)

About BSc Geography Bachelors Degree program.

Geography is concerned with understanding the forces that shape the physical environment upon which humans depend. Knowledge of geography will give students an in-depth understanding of present environmental challenges and prepare them for a career in one of several environment and planning related occupations.
This is a four-year program that provides students with the knowledge, core competencies, and transferable skills for diverse careers in resource management; urban and regional planning; education; industry; public administration; and business. The program provides students with a range of theoretical, applied, and field-based courses in Geography and students may specialize in courses that will emphasize resource management and/or urban development. The curriculum proposed is a balanced combination of theoretical and applied courses in Geography, including specialized courses in geographic information systems (GIS), Remote Sensing and Environmental Analysis.

Objectives of BSc Geography

The aim of this program is to provide access to a large number of students who wish to secure a B.Sc in Geography at Egerton University. The goal of the B.Sc in Geography is to provide students with an opportunity to acquire an awareness, appreciation and understanding of issues associated with the management of natural resources, including environmental sustainability and provisions for accommodating future urban growth.

Key objectives of the proposed program:

  • Provide students with an opportunity to acquire a B.SC. in Geography with a specialization in Natural Resource Management or Urban Growth Management or an opportunity to tailor their own B.SC. Major in Geography (General) by completing a minimum of 30 credits in Geography courses to meet career or professional objectives;
  • Deliver a balanced combination of theoretical and applied courses in Geography, including specialized courses in geographic information systems (GIS);
  • Provide opportunities for students to engage in independent or supervised work-study research projects;
  • Deliver curricula that is relevant to the demands of employers seeking graduates with a sound academic and applied background in Geography, especially in the areas of natural resource management and urban growth management;
  • Provide students with the opportunity to acquire a range of transferable skills, notably in the areas of statistical and spatial analysis, remote sensing, and GIS;
  • Encourage students to round out their education by choosing lower- and upper-level electives in the arts, humanities, social sciences and/or sciences that will broaden their post-graduate education; and,
  • Deliver a program that will provide students with the opportunity to apply for graduate school or enter such professional fields as education, planning, law, public administration, or business administration.

Entry requirements for BSc Geography

In addition to satisfying the Egerton University entrance requirements, candidates for admission to the Bachelor of Science in Geography program are required to have obtained a good pass (at least grade B-) in KCE or its equivalent with at least any three of the following subjects; Geography, Mathematics, Economics, Biology, Fine art, Agriculture or Physical Science.

Mininum Entry Requirements for Bachelor's Degree at Egerton University
The entry requirements set out below are only minimum, and they in no way entitle an applicant to a place in the University. Applicants must:

  • Have the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education with an average grade C+ (C plus)passed at one sitting from at least seven subjects drawn from subject groupings as specified by the Kenya National Examinations Council or its equivalent.


  • Have one of the following combinations of passes in the Kenya Advanced Certificate of Education examination:
  • Two (2) Principal passes obtained at the same sitting.


  • Egerton University Statutes 2008 43
  • Two (2) Principal passes obtained at different sittings provided the passes are of Grade C or higher.


  • Hold a Diploma of Egerton University with a 'Credit' pass or higher or an equivalent
  • Qualification from a recognized institution in the relevant field of specialization acceptable to Senate. Those with a 'Pass' Diploma will be considered if they have at least two years relevant experience after graduation.

Meet additional entry requirements as may be specified by the respective Department, Faculty, School or Institute.

To be admitted for a PRE-SERVICE DEGREE PROGRAM, a prospective candidate must have all the requirements set up by the joint Admission Board (JAB), with a prospective IN-SERVICE student must have completed a diplomaprogram in the relevant field and graduated with at least a CREDIT.

BSc Geography Course Subjects

The curriculum is a four year (or eight semesters) Degree Program of study runs on fulltime term basis.

In order to be awarded a B.Sc degree in Geography, a student must take and successfully complete a minimum of 156 Credit Factors (CF). After common first and second years in which fundamental aspects of geography are covered, students in their third and fourth years will be allowed to choose some elective courses that would make them specialize.
Study Visits
The course includes study visits (Field Trips) particularly in years three and four, which will give students the opportunity to apply their geographical knowledge within a specified geographical theme.
At the end of Year 3 Semester 2, each student will undergo an eight-week Industrial attchment/Internship/Practicuum
The individual dissertation is an important component of the course. A topic is selected by each student in consultation with a member of staff. Such a topic will emphasize applied aspects of geographical knowledge in solving various problems.

About Egerton University

Egerton University is the oldest institution of higher learning in Kenya. It was founded as a Farm School in 1939 by Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton, a British national who settled in Kenya in the 1920s.

Egerton University has three (3) Campuses and one Campus College.

The main Campus is based at ... read more