BSc Manufacturing Engineering and Technology Program Offered at Egerton University

Bachelors Degree 5 years Fulltime Fee: on application Intake: Ongoing

Bachelors Degree (Accredited by: Egerton University)

About BSc Manufacturing Engineering and Technology Bachelors Degree program.

Manufacturing engineering and technology is the application of engineering principles to the art and science of transforming raw materials or parts of saleable goods that meet market demands and specifications. The B.Sc. Degree program in Manufacturing Engineering and Technology is employment, business and society oriented. The program aim to train engineers who are capable of providing independent practice and leadership in manufacturing industries and to enhance the Government‟s strategy of making Kenya industrialized. The program also aims at introducing modern manufacturing technologies while taking into account the conventional manufacturing methods.
Graduates of this program can readily be employed in both small and large industrial concerns which include: engineering workshops, processing industries, motor assembly plants, production and packaging firms, and similar organizations.

Objectives of BSc Manufacturing Engineering and Technology

The main objectives of thie BSc Manufacturing Engineering and Technology degree programme at Egerton University are; to:

  • Prepare engineers who can accomplish product design, material selection, efficient production planning, evaluation and marketing, in addition to providing needed leadership in the industrial, public or private manufacturing sector of the economy.
  • Develop student‟s ability to solve problems by analytical methods, work effectively with others, communicate effectively, and make good commercial judgements and decisions.
  • Help student develop an understanding of his/her role in society and to be diligent and competent in the performance of his/her professional obligations.
  • Enable the graduate of this program to effectively participate and practice in modern manufacturing engineering profession.

Entry requirements for BSc Manufacturing Engineering and Technology

All candidates admitted to the degree program of B.Sc. in Manufacturing Engineering and Technology must satisfy the minimum entry requirement as stipulated in the common university entrance regulations.
In addition, candidates must meet the cut-off points for the year, as determined from the following subject clusters in Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE).

  • Alternative A : Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Either Geography or Biology, any Technical subjects
  • Alternative B : Mathematics, Physical Sciences, Geography or Biological Sciences, any Technical Subjects

Those holding qualifications equivalent to the above from institutions recognized by Egerton University Senate may also be admitted.
Admission may be offered to qualified outstanding Diploma holders in related Engineering disciplines or equivalent qualifications with industrial experience. Such cases will be determined on individual merit by the University.
Transfers of some credit hours for the candidates in (iv) above may be considered as approved by the University Senate.
Self- sponsored applicants shall be required to meet the University and Faculty admission criteria.

BSc Manufacturing Engineering and Technology Course Subjects

The B.Sc. course in Manufacturing Engineering and Technology at Egerton University shall be covered over a maximum of Five academic years for full time students. Each academic year shall consist of two semesters.
Part time students shall be allowed to cover the program in 10 academic years maximum.

This degree program is designed to offer courses in the following main areas:

  • University Core Courses
  • Engineering Science Courses
  • Design and Manufacturing Engineering, Manufacturing Systems and Technology Courses
  • Industrial Engineering, Computer and Management Courses

About Egerton University

Egerton University is the oldest institution of higher learning in Kenya. It was founded as a Farm School in 1939 by Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton, a British national who settled in Kenya in the 1920s.

Egerton University has three (3) Campuses and one Campus College.

The main Campus is based at ... read more