BSc. Water and Environmental Engineering Program Offered at Egerton University

Bachelors Degree 5 years Fulltime Fee: on application Intake: Ongoing

Bachelors Degree (Accredited by: Egerton University)

About BSc. Water and Environmental Engineering Bachelors Degree program.

The department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Egerton University has specifically designed the programme to train engineers who can contribute solutions to ever-changing water and environmental problems of our society. The programme lays a heavy emphasis on the practical application of knowledge, while at the same time recognizing the importance of theoretical knowledge in developing the intellectual capacity of the graduate engineer.

The course profile provides sufficient core elements of civil engineering education for the graduate to gain recognition and acceptance by professional bodies like Engineers Registration Board (ERB) and the Institution of Engineers of Kenya (IEK).

Possible employers of Water and Environmental Engineering graduates are Ministry of Water and Irrigation, Ministry of Environment and Natural resources, Regional development authorities, Municipal council‟s water service companies, Private consulting firms, National and International Non-Governmental Organizations, Civil engineering contractors, Institutions of higher learning and National Environmental Management Authority (NEMA) among others.

Objectives of BSc. Water and Environmental Engineering

The main objectives of the BSc Water and Environment Engineering programme at Egerton University are to:

  1. Prepare graduate engineers who can accomplish planning, design and construction of water systems and related infrastructural facilities.
  2. Give a practical orientation of the graduate engineer to be able to contribute practical solutions to environmental problems in our society.
  3. Inculcate the graduate engineers with sound theoretical knowledge in engineering sciences as well as in research and consultancy skills.
  4. Impart positive and responsive vocational attitudes, initiative and creative thinking in their mission as engineers.

Mininum Entry Requirements for Bachelor's Degree
The entry requirements set out below are only minimum, and they in no way entitle an applicant to a place in the University. Applicants must:

  • Have the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education with an average grade C+ (C plus)passed at one sitting from at least seven subjects drawn from subject groupings as specified by the Kenya National Examinations Council or its equivalent.


  • Have one of the following combinations of passes in the Kenya Advanced Certificate of Education examination:
  • Two (2) Principal passes obtained at the same sitting.


  • Egerton University Statutes 2008 43
  • Two (2) Principal passes obtained at different sittings provided the passes are of Grade C or higher.


  • Hold a Diploma of Egerton University with a 'Credit' pass or higher or an equivalent
  • Qualification from a recognized institution in the relevant field of specialization acceptable to Senate. Those with a 'Pass' Diploma will be considered if they have at least two years relevant experience after graduation.

Meet additional entry requirements as may be specified by the respective Department, Faculty, School or Institute.

To be admitted for a PRE-SERVICE DEGREE PROGRAM, a prospective candidate must have all the requirements set up by the joint Admission Board (JAB), with a prospective IN-SERVICE student must have completed a diplomaprogram in the relevant field and graduated with at least a CREDIT.

Entry requirements for BSc. Water and Environmental Engineering

All candidates admitted to the BSc. in Water and Environmental Engineering degree programme at Egerton University must satisfy the minimum entrance requirements stipulated in the common Egerton university entrance regulations.

  1. In addition, candidates must obtain at least the minimum grades in the following cluster subjects at Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (K.C.S.E).
    • Alternative A :Mathematics B+, Physics B+, Chemistry B+
    • Alternative B : Mathematics B+, Physical Science A-, Biological Sciences A-
    • Either Biology or Either Geography or any Group IV subjects (i.e. technical subjects)  B+
  2. Those holding qualifications equivalent to the K.C.S.E (above) from institutions recognized by Egerton University Senate may also be admitted.
  3. Admission may be offered to outstanding diploma holders in engineering disciplines passed with a credit or above or their equivalent from institutions recognized by Egerton University Senate. Such cases will be treated on individual merit. Transfer of credit up to a maximum of 30% of the total CF may be considered for diploma holders based on the guidelines stipulated by the Senate.
  4. Self-sponsored applicants shall be required to meet the University and Faculty admission criteria

BSc. Water and Environmental Engineering Course Subjects

The BSc Water and Environment Engineering programme at Egerton University shall be covered in five academic years for full time students.

Each year is divided into two semesters of 17 weeks each.
Part time students shall be allowed to cover the programme within ten academic years.
To graduate, a student will be expected to have covered a minimum of 195 credit factors
All students shall undergo an Internal Engineering Practice and two Industrial / Field Attachment each lasting 8 weeks after the second, third and fourth year of study.
Units to be covered include:

  • Level 0 - Introductory courses.
  • Level 1 - Basic engineering courses.
  • Level 2 - Geotechnical engineering courses
  • Level 3 - Structural engineering courses
  • Level 4 - Environmental engineering courses
  • Level 5 - Water resources engineering courses
  • Level 6 - Research, industrial attachment and projects.

About Egerton University

Egerton University is the oldest institution of higher learning in Kenya. It was founded as a Farm School in 1939 by Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton, a British national who settled in Kenya in the 1920s.

Egerton University has three (3) Campuses and one Campus College.

The main Campus is based at ... read more