| Diploma in Education Primary

Diploma in Education (Primary) - Egerton University

The aim of this Education programme at Egerton University is to improve the quality of primary school instruction and management.

 Diploma  3 years  Fulltime Fee: on application
Public University Njoro - Constituency, Nakuru - County

The diploma in Education (Primary) programme at Egerton University is designed to produce teachers with an in-depth understanding of the subject matter, sound professional skills and ability to adapt to the ever-changing Educational needs in Kenya. Its focus is on quality instruction and management of primary schools.

This two year course leading to Diploma in Primary Education from Egerton University is aimed at improving the competency of primary school teachers in instruction and managerial skills which is presently largely lacking in public schools.

In addition, there is a pool of trained teachers with P1 certificates who do not meet the present minimum requirement for entry into B.Ed primary programme at Egerton University. The programme will therefore provide a suitable bridge for entry into B.Ed primary and further training.

Diploma in Education Primary - objectives

The aim of this Education programme at Egerton University is to improve the quality of primary school instruction and management. The specific objectives of the programme are to:

  1. Enhance the teacher‟s subject content and pedagogical knowledge, skills and attitudes.
  2. Enhance teachers‟ ability to handle two of the subject areas taught in primary schools, namely; a) Science, Agriculture and Mathematics b) Social Studies and Languages .
  3. Develop a primary school teacher who is creative and capable of discovering, understanding, controlling and adapting to new technologies.
  4. Enable the primary school teacher to develop the child‟s ability in creative thinking, problem solving and communication skills.
  5. Develop a teacher‟s awareness, understanding and commitment to professional ethics, basic human rights and sound environmental.
  6. Develop a teacher‟s capacity to produce and use relevant learning materials.
  7. Enhance a teacher‟s leadership and managerial skills.
  8. Prepare teachers for further Education and training.

Entry requirements

All examinations for this programme shall be conducted in accordance with examination regulations as stipulated in the Egerton University Statute XXVIII

Egerton University minimum entry requirements for Diploma Programmes

The entry requirements set out below are only minimum, and they do not in any way, entitle an applicant to a place at Egerton University. 
Applicants must:

  1. Have the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education with an average grade 'C' passed at one sitting from at least seven subjects drawn from subject groupings as specified by the Kenya
  2. National Examinations Council or equivalent. Provided that candidates with disabilities will be given special consideration with regard to the number of subjects taken at KCSE. OR
  3. Hold a certificate from a recognized institution with a 'Credit' pass or higher or equivalent qualification from a recognized institution in the relevant field of specialization, acceptable to Senate AND
  4. Meet additional or specific entry requirements as may be specified by the respective Department, Faculty, School or Institute offering the Diploma programme.

Diploma in Education Primary - course content

Diploma in Education (Primary) programme at Egerton University shall take a minimum period of two (2) years (total of 1620 hrs) of 108 credit factors (CF) drawn from professional courses, subject content areas and instructional materials preparation (Learning Resource Project). The maximum period for a student to complete the course is four years.
Under School Based (Part Time Mode), the schedule of the course will be as follows:
Block 1 in April (4 weeks), Block 2 in August (4 weeks) and Block 3 in December (4 weeks). The three (3) blocks will constitute one academic year. Each academic year will be referred to as a Level e.g. Level one (L1) Level Two (L2