Co-operative University of Kenya (CUK)

Langata - Constituency, Nairobi - County


The Co-operative University of Kenya (CUK) is a leading center for quality co-operative education, training, research and consultancy in Kenya.

CUK is a public institution that provides education and training with emphasis on Co-operative development. It provides consultancy and research services to the Co-operative sector and related economies. Specifically, CUK is mandated to execute the following functions:-

  • To advance learning and knowledge through teaching, research and consultancy on all matters relating to cooperative development, community development, rural transformation, business studies, information and communication technology at national and international level;
  • To provide directly, or in collaboration with other institutions of higher learning, facilities for University education (including vocational, professional and scientific education), the integration of teaching, research and effective application of knowledge and skills to the life, work and welfare of the citizens of Kenya;
  • To participate in the discovery, transmission and preservation and enhancement of knowledge and to stimulate the intellectual participation of students in the economic, social cultural, scientific and technological development of Kenya;
  • To provide and advance University education and training to appropriately qualified candidates, leading to the conferment of degrees and award of diplomas and certificates and such other qualifications as the Council and the Senate shall from time to time determine;
  • To conduct examinations for such academic awards as may be provided in the Statutes pertaining to the University;
  • To examine and make proposals for new faculties, schools, institutes, departments, resource and research centers, degree courses and subjects of study;
  • To play a leading role in the development and expansion of the opportunities for higher education and research in agribusiness, Co-operatives and associative economy;
  • To develop as an institution of excellence in teaching, training, scholarship, entrepreneurship, innovation, research and consultancy services;
  • To participate in commercial ventures and other activities to the benefit of the institution, the community and stakeholders;
  • To offer Co-operative education, research and training for various categories of personnel of the Co-operative movement, government Officers and general public to serve as a Centre of academic excellence in the Co-operative movement in the region;
  • To develop and provide educational, cultural, professional, technical and vocational services to the community and in particular foster corporate social responsibility;
  • To provide programmes, products and services in ways that reflects the principles of equity and social justice;
  • To facilitate student mobility between different programmes at different training institutions, universities and industry; and
  • To foster the general welfare of all staff and students.

CUK was established as a Constituent College of Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) via Legal Notice No. 161 of 2011.
The Predecessor College was a Semi-Autonomous Government agency (SAGA) under the Ministry of Co-operative Development and Marketing.
The college was initially offering Certificate and Diploma courses, but since 2005, we have successfully offered the Bachelor of Co-operative Business degree in collaboration with (JKUAT). In September 2012, the college admitted the pioneer group of JAB students for the Bachelor of Co-operative Business and Bachelor of Commerce degrees.

Why Choose Co-operative University of Kenya


To develop a Globally competitive Co-operative University that is excellent in Education, Training, Research, Innovation and Outreach.


To Provide Education, Training, Research and Consultancy In Order To Produce Leaders in the Fields of Co-operative Development, Community Development, Rural Transformation, Business, Applied Sciences, Information and Communication Technology for Development.


A leading University in Co-operative Training, Education, Research and Innovation.


Quality Co-operative Training


Establishment of a co-operative training institution 1908: 

The first co-operative in Kenya was founded by the Colonial Government. This was a typical British Co-operative Business Model which sidelined Africans from the mainstream economy. Such state of affairs was to be sustained albeit with slight flexibility during the struggle towards independence.

School of cooperation 1952:

That is how in 1952 the school of cooperation was started at the then Jeans School (now Kenya School of Government) which saw the three East African countries: Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania/Tanganyika establish the school to ensure the uniqueness of the Co-operative Business Model was preserved.

The Co-operative College of Kenya was born 1967: 

And that is how in 1967, the Co-operative College of Kenya was born with 40 students at Allen Road, the present Daystar University Campus next to Kenyatta National Hospital which gave way to the construction of the present Co-operative College located at Ushirika Road, Karen.

Mzee Jomo Kenyatta laid a foundation stone of the college 1970 (June 18th ) :

The first President of the Republic of Kenya, Mzee Jomo Kenyatta laid a foundation stone of the college as currently evidenced by the foundation stone at the main entrance towards the Nordic Assembly Hall.

The college was able to host three diploma courses 1974 – 1982 : 

The principal reports that, “the tempo of the growth of the college was on the upward trend” ( COCK Annual Report, 1974).College facilities were expanded to cope with rising demand for co-operative business education and training ( COCK Annual Report, 1978). The college was able to host three diploma courses; the highest most esteemed college education level ( COCK Annual Report, 1979)( COCK Annual Report, 1974).Construction works began in 1978 and were completed in 1980 ( COCK Annual Report, 1980).Performance in all college courses was recorded as satisfactory and encouraging with very low failure rates ( COCK Annual Report, 1982).

The mission of the college was defined 1983 : 

The mission of the college was defined and stated as, “ a national training institute involved in the training personnel of co-operative societies and unions as well as middle cadre government officers who help in supervision of activities of the movement on behalf of the Ministry of Co-operative Development ( COCK Annual Report, 1983).

The College launched its first degree programme 2005 : 

The College launched its first degree programme, the Bachelor of Co-operative Business in collaboration with Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (College prospectus,2005).

The University College is awarded her Charter 2016 (October 7th) : 

The University College is awarded her Charter by the fourth President of the Republic of Kenya, His Excellency, Uhuru Kenyatta; coincidentally the son of the first president, Mzee Jomo Kenyatta who laid the foundation stone for the college establishment. It became The Co-operative University of Kenya and the first one of its own kind.


Located about 20km from Nairobis CBD in the leafy and serene Karen suburb.

We operate four campuses:

  • Langata campus,
  • Nairobi town campus,
  • Meru campus
  • Mombasa campus

Courses offered at Co-operative University of Kenya

Trending courses