Diploma in Computer Science Program Offered at Egerton University

Diploma 2 years Fulltime Fee: on application Intake: Ongoing

Diploma (Accredited by: Egerton University)

About Diploma in Computer Science Diploma program.

Computer Science is the scientific and practical approach to computation and its applications and the systematic study of the feasibility, structure, expression, and mechanization of various day to day procedures.

This Diploma in Computer Science programme at Egerton University has been reviewed with the intention of making it competitive while maintaining the high standard.

With the Courses offered, the graduates will become highly competitive in the job market and at the same time become independent in making career choices. They will also be able to handle self-employment.

Students at Egerton University are trained not only in the technical areas of specialization but also in self-discipline, communication skills and entrepreneurship.

Objectives of Diploma in Computer Science

The aim of this computer science diploma programme is to prepare students to fit into the world market entering at the middle level.

The students are also to be armed with adequate skills that would allow them to advance their careers into computer profession.

Graduates of the program will be able to work independently or in teams in managing Information Systems and solving Information Technology related problems.

The graduates will also be able to join undergraduate degree program in computer science or related disciplines at senior level.

The general objectives of the program are:

  1. training students who will conduct themselves with commitment to excellence, high productivity and social responsibility;
  2. equipping the students with skills required to work as user support professionals, Network Administrators, Web Masters or Programmers.

Entry requirements for Diploma in Computer Science

The following shall be eligible for admissions to Diploma in Computer Science at Egerton University as per University Statute:

Applicant must possess KCSE certificate with a minimum of C. In addition, he/she must have obtained at least the following grades:

  • Physics C OR Physical Sciences C
  • Maths C Kiswahili C
  • English C

Applicant must possess KCE/EACE certificate with at least a Division three (3) with at least the following grades:

  • Physics or Physical Sciences Credit five (5).
  • Mathematics Credit four (4).
  • English Language Credit six (6) OR
  • Kiswahili Credit (6)

Applicant must have passed KACE/EAACE examination. In addition, he or she must possess at least:

  • Subsidiary pass in Mathematics and
  • At least a credit pass in Physics/Physical Sciences at Ordinary level.

Any equivalent qualification such as Certificate in Microcomputer Application, Programming etc recognized by the senate of Egerton University.

Those with weak grades in physics and maths to be considered if they have certificates in Computer Applications and bridging from institutions recognized by Egerton University.

Diploma in Computer Science Course Subjects

Students will take and pass all the eighty five (85) Credit Factors. Full-time Students will complete the programme in a minimum period of eighteen (18) months within four semesters. Part-time students must register for a minimum of nine - (9) Credit Factors per Semester. Part-Time students will take a maximum of eight Semesters (36 months) to complete the programme.

Some of the subject areas to be covered in this computer science diploma programme at Egerton University are:

  1. Computer Architecture and Hardware
  2. Operating Systems
  3. Software Engineering
  4. Programming Languages
  5. Database Management Systems
  6. Distributed Systems
  7. Computer Networks
  8. Management and Entrepreneurship
  9. General Topics

About Egerton University

Egerton University is the oldest institution of higher learning in Kenya. It was founded as a Farm School in 1939 by Lord Maurice Egerton of Tatton, a British national who settled in Kenya in the 1920s.

Egerton University has three (3) Campuses and one Campus College.

The main Campus is based at ... read more